I Direct “My Favorite Husband” plus “The Bickersons” Nov. 15 in Burbank!

I’m excited to announce that I’ll soon be directing two more “radio” productions, performed live onstage by a talented cast of actors and singers, supplemented by music and sound-effects.
   It’s all part of the SPERDVAC Old-Time Radio Convention Saturday Evening Banquet & Program: 6:30pm to 9:30pm, Saturday, November 15, 2014, at the Burbank Holiday Inn. The $50 ticket price includes a three-course dinner plus three great after-dinner shows.
 castpix.SPERDVAC2014.s
   First up, an episode of the “true crime” radio drama Crime Classics, directed by the great Peggy Webber and starring Lee Meriwether (Barnaby Jones, Time Tunnel, Mission Impossible), Marvin Kaplan (Alice, Top Cat, Adam’s Rib, It’s a Mad, Mad, Mad, Mad World), and Herb Ellis (Dragnet, Perry Mason).

   Next I’ll directing a hilarious installment of Philip Rapp’s comedy The Bickersons, starring Richard Herd (Seinfeld, Golden Girls) and Lisa Valenzuela (star of the amazing Troubadour Theatre Company).

   And finally, I’ll direct an episode of Lucy’s  radio sitcom, My Favorite Husband. This episode was later adapted into the classic episode of I Love Lucy: “Lucy Changes Her Mind.” Tackling Lucy’s role will be Gloria McMillan, best known as Principal Conklin’s daughter, “Harriet,” on Our Miss Brooks. Rounding out the cast will be Richard HerdBeverly Washburn (The Jack Benny Program, Old Yeller, Star Trek), John Wilder, who as “Johnny McGovern,” acted with Lucille Ball on several of the original My Favorite Husband broadcasts, Ivan Cury (star of radio’s Bobby Benson & the B-Bar-B Riders), Bart Williams (Hello, Dolly, MADtv), Stuffy Singer (The Jack Benny Program, Walt Disney’s Peter Pan), Camden Singer (Desperate Housewives, The Mentalist), Ron Cocking, and Sofia Siegel.
   I really hope you can make it. Tickets are selling quickly, so please be sure to order yours right away using this order form.

Thanks!

   – Gregg
2 Responses to “I Direct “My Favorite Husband” plus “The Bickersons” Nov. 15 in Burbank!”

  1. Diane Vincent Says:

    Fabulous! Hope I can come!

    Cheers,

    Diane

  2. Christina Carroll Says:

    Peggy Webber is a dear friend of my family and wonderful to work with. And ‘My Favorite Husband?’ My favorite father would want me to come – we will certainly try to make it! Christina

Leave a Reply

